PUBLIC HOLIDAYS IN CANADA IN 2017


When planning your Canadian vacation, it might be useful to refer to this list of public holidays in Canada in 2017. 

Most businesses, government offices, banks and shops will be closed on the following days:


2017 Calendar

  • New Year's Day: Sunday January 1, 2017
  • Good Friday: Friday April 14, 2017
  • Easter Monday: Monday April 17, 2017
  • Victoria Day/National Patriots Day: Monday May 22, 2017
  • Quebec national Holiday: Saturday June 24, 2017 (Quebec only)
  • Canada Day: Saturday July 1, 2017
  • British Columbia Day: Monday August 7, 2017 (BC only)
  • Heritage Day - Alberta: Monday August 7, 2017 (Alberta only)
  • Labour Day: Monday September 4, 2017
  • Thanksgiving Day: Monday October 9, 2017
  • Remembrance Day: Saturday November 11, 2017
  • Christmas: Monday December 25, 2017
  • Boxing Day: Tuesday December 26, 2017

 


Other holidays in Canada (vacations)

Many tourist attractions stay open on public holidays. It is recommended to check before visiting.

Students in Canada generally have a week off in November and another in March. The dates may vary between regions. 

Furthermore, nearly 25% of Quebec workers are on holiday during the last two weeks of July (known as the Construction Holiday). As many tourist attractions can be extremely busy at this time, you might want to take this into consideration when planning your trip.

 


FAQ